Finding help on your own–Support Communities

Have you run into a problem with your computer, tablet or smartphone?

Chances are, somebody else has had the exact same problem and it has been discussed, and solved, in a support community forum accessible on the Internet.

Remember my problem with my iPad battery draining after installing iOS7? I found the solution, in that case, in a conversation in the Apple Support Communities.

How I Use Support Communities (Apple example)

ScreenShot Apple Support Communities Front Page

Apple Support Communities Front Page

Once I have opened the Apple Support Communities Front Page, I usually Sign-in (see 1 in Figure: Apple Support Communities Front Page). Use your AppleID to sign in. Note: this step is optional if you just want to look around, but you need to sign in to receive notifications and updates regarding conversations in the community).

Next, I Search the communities for a conversation relevant to my current issue (see 2 in Figure: Apple Support Communities Front Page). To date, I have always found an existing conversation that solves my issue.

If you don’t find a solution, then you can pose your own question (see 3 in Figure: Apple Support Communities Front Page) and wait for the community to respond (you will receive email notifications when your question receives a response if you have signed in).

Support Communities for key technologies

Leave a Reply

